Skip to content

Organized by INMA (University of Zaragoza & Spanish Research Council) and Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

Registration deadline: June 6th 2023

This workshop will bring together world experts in advanced neutron and x-Ray-based characterization techniques, researchers, and industry representatives to discuss new approaches to investigate the behavior of Li-ion batteries to solve challenges associated to battery performance. 

Students, researchers, and scientists are welcome to join.

Confirmed Invited speakers

Dr. Laura Simonelli

Beamline Responsible BL22 CLAESS Core Level Absorption and Emission Spectroscopies Beamline, ALBA, Spain

Laura works since 2004 on the investigation of functional materials, with particular focus on the interplay in between the lattice and electronic properties and their correlations with the functional ones. She mainly focused on the study of battery, high Tc superconductors, and environments or health correlated materials. She got the PhD in Material Science in 2007 and she is a group leader (from 4 to 6 members) and responsible of the CLAESS beamline at ALBA synchrotron since 2013. In 19 years of research, she produced 125 publications in international journals reaching a final H-index higher than 25.

Dr. Andrea Sorrentino

Beamline Scientist BL09 MISTRAL Soft X-Ray Microscopy Beamline, ALBA, Spain

Andrea is a beamline scientist with more than 10 years of experience in soft X-rays transmission microscopy. He started to work in the field of X-ray imaging during his PhD in 2009 with the group lead by Stefano Lagomarsino at the Institute of Photonics and Nanotechnology in Rome, carrying out a variety of experiments the field of X-ray imaging (propagation phase contrast, X-ray fluorescence, X-ray ptychography, micro diffraction tomography, transmission microscopy) in laboratory and at synchrotron light facilities. From 2012 he was Postdoc Researcher Associate and from 2016 Beamline Scientist at the Mistral beamline of the Alba synchrotron. His actual research interest focuses on the application of tomography and spectromicroscopy for the characterization of battery materials and biomineralization processes in biological cells. (H index = 18, number of publications = 48 from WoS).

Dr. Dmitry Chernyshov

Beamline Responsible BM01, Swiss-Norwegian Beamline, ESRF, France

Dmitry is a beam line responsible at BM01 station of Swiss-Norwegian Beam Lines at European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, Grenoble, France. He received his PhD in Physics in 1998 from Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute, and Doctor of Science (habilitation) degree from St.-Petersburg Polytechnic University in 2019. Dmitry’s professional interests are: experimental and theoretical crystallography, cooperative phenomena and phase transitions in solids; beam-line instrumentation and development; diffuse scattering, correlation and modulation diffraction techniques, in-situ experiments.

Dr. Kenneth Marshall

Postdoctoral Researcher BM31, Swiss-Norwegian Beamline, ESRF, France

Kenneth is a postdoc at BM31, Swiss-Norwegian beamlines, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, Grenoble, France. He received is MChem and PhD from the University of Warwick, Coventry, UK in 2013 and 2017 respectively, both in the department of chemistry, before doing a postdoctoral research position at department of material science at NTNU, Trondheim from 2018 – 2021. His scientific interests are solution processable photovoltaics, hydrothermal synthesis, in situ and operando measurements, X-ray diffraction and X-ray total scattering/ pair-distribution functions.

Dr. Ana Garcia Prieto

Beamline Scientist BM25-SpLine X-Ray Scattering and X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Beamline, ESRF, France

na Garcia Prieto studied Materials Engineering and Chemistry and she received her PhD on Chemistry as Multidisciplinary Science. She has focused mostly on preparation and characterization of different materials, especially in ceramic materials. Currently she works at BM25-SpLine at European Synchrotron Radiation Facility. Her research lies on characterization of oxide epitaxial thin films using different techniques such as X-ray Reflectivity and Grazing Incidence X-ray Diffraction among other synchrotron techniques.

Dr. Stefano Checchia

Beamline Scientist ID15A- Materials Chemistry and Materials Engineering, ESRF, France

Stefano is a scientist at the beamline ID15A of the ESRF (Grenoble, France) since June 2020, after a stint at MAX-IV (Lund, Sweden) and a postdoc also at ESRF. He applies high-energy X-ray diffraction to the study of fast processes and structural disorder in materials, particularly those of industrial interest for heterogeneous catalysis and electrochemical devices. His current projects include operando studies of catalytic nanoparticles, time- and spatially-resolved characterisation of Li-ion batteries, and studying electroceramics under applied electric field.

Dr. Jacob LaManna

Instrument Scientist BT-2 Thermal Neutron Imaging Instrument, NIST, USA

Jake is a beam line responsible for the BT-2 thermal neutron instrument at the NIST Center for Neutron Research, Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA. He received his PhD in 2014 from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville where he worked on multiphase transport in polymer electrolyte fuel cells. Jake started as a National Research Council postdoc at NIST in late 2014. As a postdoc, he developed the NIST Neutron and X-ray Tomography (NeXT) system. He has been a permanent staff scientist at NIST since 2016. His research interests revolve around using simultaneous neutron and X-ray tomography to characterize a wide range of samples and research topics. His current work in electrochemistry includes understanding degradation caused by extreme fast charging in lithium-ion batteries and developing ultra-fast neutron tomography methods to capture water dynamics in operating low temperature fuel cells.

Prof. Dr. Markus Strobl

Leader Applied Materials, PSI, Switzerland

Markus heads the Applied Materials Group of the Laboratory of Neutron Scattering and Imaging at the Paul Scherrer Institute in Switzerland, after he worked at the European Spallation Source (ESS, Lund, Sweden) as deputy head of the Instrument Division and instrument class coordinator for imaging and engineering diffraction and he holds an affiliated professorship for neutron and x-ray imaging techniques at the Niels Bohr Institute of Copenhagen University. Before that he was an instrument scientist at the Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin for many years and different neutron scattering instruments. His group in Switzerland operates three neutron imaging beam lines and an engineering diffractometer, which lend themselves among many other applications to various investigations in battery research.

Dr. Ángel Larrea

Scientific Researcher at the Institute of Nanoscience and Materials of Aragón (CSIC – University of Zaragoza).

Ángel obtained his PhD in Physics in 1991 with a dissertation about new radiation detectors based on superconducting materials at very low temperature. During his postdoctoral period, he started to work in the microstructure of ceramics for energy applications, subject to which he has devoted most of his scientific career. He is currently applying neutron scattering techniques to the in-situ and operando study of industrial batteries.

Dr. Obinna Egwu Eleri

Beyonder AS, Norway

MSc. Halvor Høen Hval

Morrow Batteries, Norway

Dr. Marit Kjærvik

Vianode, Norway


Maria Valeria Blanco

Aragon Institute of Nanoscience and Materials (CSIC-Unizar)

Javier Campo

Aragon Institute of Nanoscience and Materials (CSIC-Unizar)


Kesavan Thangaian

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology



R10, Realfagbygget, NTNU – Gløshaugen, Trondheim

Map by MazeMap